And the winner is….


The Lancashire Sports Awards 2017 were held at the Hilton Hotel in Blackpool. It was a night full of entertainment and sporting guests. Thank you to everyone who attended and congratulations to all the winners.

The event celebrates the achievements of those who have been a driving force on the county’s sporting scene.

Adrian Leather, Chief Executive of Lancashire Sport Partnership said: “We believe that sport and physical activity enhances health and well-being, and enriches communities, so we are delighted to celebrate and reward those who contribute to our region’s growing reputation in sport.”

Guests on the evening were entertained by magician Tim Litchfield and the Didsbury String Quartet before the awards and guest speakers on the night included Paralympic gold medallist Steph Slater and professional boxer Stacey Copeland.

Active Workplace of the Year, Sponsored by James Hall SPAR.
Winner: Burnley College (Burnley)

Adult Volunteer of the Year, Sponsored by Places for People .
Highly Commended: Vicki Pickup (South Ribble) and Vicki Jordan (Burnley)
Winner: Yunes Suleman (Preston)

Coach of the Year, Sponsored by UCLan.
Highly Commended: Sam Fitzpatrick (Preston)
Winner: Claire Howard (West Lancashire)

Contribution to Women’s Participation, proudly sponsored by Blackpool & The Fylde College.
Highly Commended: Charlene Makinson (Preston)
Winner: Joanne Baldwin (Burnley)

Community Club of the Year, proudly sponsored by Burnley FC in the Community.
Highly Commended: Fulledge Colts Youth FC (Burnley)and Lancaster Tennis Club (Lancaster)
Winner: Preston Pirates BMX Club (Preston)

Community Project of the Year, proudly sponsored by Satellite Clubs.
Highly Commended: 5 Ways Boxing Academy (Burnley)
Winner: Ossy Joggers (Hyndbburn)

Lifetime Achievement Award.
Winner: Arthur Malone (Preston)

Primary School of the Year, proudly sponsored by Westholme School.
Highly Commended: Ansdell Primary School (Fylde)
Winner: Casterton Primary School (Burnley)

Secondary School of the Year, proudly sponsored by Conlon Construction.
Highly Commended: Ormskirk School (West Lancashire)
Winner: St Cecilia’s High School (Preston)

Service to Disability Sport, sponsored by Preston North End Community and Education Trust
Winner: Mike Mason (Chorley) and Faisal Member (Preston)

Young Achiever of the Year, sponsored by Burnley College.
Highly Commended: Grace Harrison (Lancaster)
Winner: Pia Murray (South Ribble)

Young Volunteer of the Year, proudly sponsored by Flexi Digital.
Highly Commended: Nathan Noblet (Preston)
Winner: Lois Brown (Blackburn)

Check out more information on the winners and view all the photos from the night.